Tag Archives: Dairy Free

Dairy-Free Hazelnut Gelato: Your Next Addiction

Hazelnut gelato is among one of the many classic gelato flavors but have you tried our dairy-free version? We promise you’ll love it. It’s only in store for one more month so try it before it’s too late!

We make our gelato from the hazelnuts of Piedmont because it’s just that important of a flavor. Sharing our tradition with you is important to us and that’s why we import some of our ingredients all the way over to sunny California. A long line of family tradition brought us the gelato we know and love today and we want to share it with you in true form.

“The smell of the hazelnut works seamlessly with the Oat Milk. It is very important to have a soft texture that is seen in hazelnuts when cooked. The Oat Milk respects the nature of hazelnuts unlike other milk options.”

– Patrizia Pasqualetti, Gelato Chef

Are Hazelnuts gelato good for you?

Hazelnuts gelato is a great source of antioxidants and healthy fatty acids. Although they are high in calories, they are loaded with nutrients.

Hazelnuts gelato is also a great source of:

  • Vitamin E
  • Thiamin
  • Magnesium
  • Copper
  • Manganese
  • Vitamin B6
  • Phosphorous
  • Potassium
  • Zinc

If you love a classic but creamy nut flavor then you’ll love our dairy-free hazelnut gelato.

Where can I try Hazelnut gelato?

Stop by GIO Gelati at either of our locations as well as on most delivery apps for a cup or cone to try this fun seasonal flavor! We hope to see you soon!

You can also order a pint online on our online store:

Join GIO Club

Join our Italian gelato club to be the first to try new flavors and receive exclusive gelato based recipes you can try at home! Just remember: it’s not ice cream, it’s gelato! Simply choose between the three available plans and our selection of flavors.

New Vegan Gelato Subscription from GIO Club

Now going live: GIO Vegan! GIO Gelati is now starting to deliver to vegan customers the news pure-vegan gelato subscription. A new subscription box with 3 pints of vegan gelato of your choice. Local, fresh, healthy, vegan gelato delivered directly to you!

Is Gelato Vegan?

Let’s start by clearing the air. You have mixed emotions when you hear something is vegan? That’s okay. But, let’s make sure we’re on the same page here. When we say vegan gelato, we mean there wasn’t any dairy involved in the process. But in no way, is that a factor in our decision for the end product. At GIO, our vegan options are gelato first and vegan second.

In other words, we prize getting the perfect flavor and consistency above all else during the gelato-making process. Therefore, that means that if a flavor didn’t need any dairy, then it is also vegan. 

Most of our fruit options are vegan because we use pure water instead of milk to enhance the fruits natural flavor. For example, our passion fruit, raspberry and banana flavors are all just 3 ingredients! Organic fruit, organic cane sugar and water blended to creamy perfection! 

Is Vegan Gelato Healthy?

We make Vegan gelato from a wide array of fresh fruity blends and nut or chocolate flavors that are also good for you! As a result, a lower calorie intake and a smaller chance of upsetting your belly. You’ll be pleasantly surprised to learn that vegan gelato flavors are low in fat and can be up to 20% fewer calories as opposed to their dairy versions.

Want to know the benefits of gelato? Read our article about why gelato is good for you! We believe that picking each fruit in the right season greatly determines our gelato taste, something that we rely heavily on. The seasonality of gelato matters! That’s why we have seasonal flavors, announced at the beginning of each month so we can fully embrace what Mother Nature brings to the table.

“Careful research and respect for each ingredient allow us to offer gelato that is pleasurable from the point of view of taste and aroma. A product aimed at well-being. The choice of working with water and milk alternatives, grants us the true flavor of each ingredient and acts as a study of taste to accompany us in everyday life.”

– Patrizia Pasqualetti, Gelato Chef

How we make Vegan Gelato?

Vegan simply means dairy-free. Containing only the necessities to maintain true flavor and a rich gelato experience. Because gelato is slowly churned over a long period of time, it has the consistency you know and love. But most importantly, this process stays true to the ingredients and differentiates gelato from ice cream. Remember, it’s gelato not ice cream!

Gelato is Our Passion

We’re passionate about gelato and the health benefits of our products. For this reason, we’ve brought over 4 decades of gelato-making wisdom here to the United States to share with you. By hand-picking every ingredient we use, we hope to shape a better tomorrow and a healthier future. 

We believe gelato is the future. 

Try out GIO Vegan Gelato Subscription

Want guilt-free gelato delivered to your door? With GIO Club that’s what you’ll be getting. Browse our large selection of flavors and customise your experience. Contactless delivery every 2-4 weeks means there’s nothing to worry about except how you’re going to enjoy your gelato! We look forward to serving you.